+972 Magazine's Stories of the Week

Directly In Your Inbox

Analysis News
Visit our Hebrew site, "Local Call" , in partnership with Just Vision.

LIVE: Frontline Club debate on art and politics

The English National Opera is staging The Death of Klinghoffer, John Adams’s opera about the Achille Lauro hostage crisis. Ever since its premiere in 1991, the opera has been accused of “glorifying” and “romanticising” terrorism, and, almost inevitably, anti-Semitism. Ahead of the London premiere, The Frontline Club is hosting a panel on arts, politics and how they interact. The panelists will be authors Will Self and Ghada Karmi, conductor Baldur Bronniman and yours truly, and you can see us live via the streaming video below beginning at 7pm London time (2pm EST, 9pm in Israel-Palestine). Would love to hear your thoughts as we go along.

Video streaming by Ustream

 

Before you go...

A lot of work goes into creating articles like the one you just read. And while we don’t do this for the money, even our model of non-profit, independent journalism has bills to pay.

+972 Magazine is owned by our bloggers and journalists, who are driven by passion and dedication to the causes we cover. But we still need to pay for editing, photography, translation, web design and servers, legal services, and more.

As an independent journalism outlet we aren’t beholden to any outside interests. In order to safeguard that independence voice, we are proud to count you, our readers, as our most important supporters. If each of our readers becomes a supporter of our work, +972 Magazine will remain a strong, independent, and sustainable force helping drive the discourse on Israel/Palestine in the right direction.

Support independent journalism in Israel/Palestine Donate to +972 Magazine today
View article: AAA
Share article
Print article
  • LEAVE A COMMENT

    * Required